Comparison always true in Target code

Hello to All!

I’m new to Open AT world (but not to embedded world :slight_smile: ).

I’m facing some problems developing my first Open AT application. It is aimed on communicating with external uC (LPC2000 family).

Sample code - small routine having to UUencode portion of data:

u32 lpcb_LoadUUData(ascii *out, ascii *in, u8 cnt)
{
    u8  ptr;
    u32 znaki;
    u32 sum;
    u8  z;

if (!cnt || (cnt > 45))
		return 0;

*out++ = cnt+32;

sum = 0;

do {

for (ptr=0; ptr<3; ptr++) {
			znaki <<= 8;

if (cnt) {
				z = *in++;
				znaki |= z;
				sum += z;
				cnt--;
			}
		}

for (ptr=0; ptr<4; ptr++) {	
			z = ((znaki >> (18-6*ptr)) & 0x3F) + 32;
            if (z == 32)
                z = 0x60;
			*out++ = z;
		}

} while (cnt);

*out = 0;	
	return sum;

}

The problem is that, while it works perfectly when compiled in RTE mode, when compiled and run Target mode, result of (z == 32) comparison is ALWAYS true, no matter what value ‘z’ holds.
I’ve checked this by making some ‘debug output’ through serial port - ‘z’ printed right before comparison shows proper values and printed right after ‘if (…) …’ block it always shows ‘grave accent’ (0x60) character :open_mouth:

Whole LoadUUData function is called from timer handler with ‘in’ pointing to globally declared array and ‘out’ pointing to array declared within timer handler.

I suspect some kind of bug in GCC compiler, although I work with GCC for ARM7 daily and didn’t have such problems yet so it is hard to believe for me :wink:

Any hints why my code is ‘failing’? Thanks in advance for answers!

PS. Open AT 4.24, Open AT Firmware 663, GCC 4.0.1.0, Eclipse 3.2.2, hardware: Q2686.

Try adding some {} for the if section… The version of GCC used might very well have some weird bug…

Didn’t help… :frowning: