Raspberry CM4, TCP connection with WP7607

I am an absolute beginner with LTE modules and unfortunately not a talented programmer.
I want to establish a TCP connection to the Internet via the USB interface with a Raspberry CM4 and a WP7607. The WP7607 should simply work as a modem and establish the internet connection on its own.
Secondly, I want the NMEA data from the GNSS to be output via a UART.
I have a mangOH red board for programming, later I want to solder the WP7607 directly onto the PCB.
What is the easiest way to realise this?
I am grateful for any help.
Reiner

@reiner

Those are some big questions.

So for the internet connection first issue is the drivers to enumerate the USB end points, here you have two possibilities:

• You might be lucky and the open source Qualcomm driver are already included, they weren’t the last time I looked. While they are not recommended they should work at least.
  • If they aren’t in the kernel then you will have to cross compile them drivers in. There are resources on the internet telling you how to do this.

After that You can start a connection using the procedure in the attached, it does not mention the WP but it will work as the platform is QC based.

Re the GPS, to keep life simple I would not bother with the NMEA over UART, if you have gone to the trouble above of cross compiling the drivers in you will automatically get an NMEA port you can access over USB. The ports enumerate as follows (assuming there aren’t already any /dev/.ttyUSB ports on the system already).

• /dev/ttyUSB0 - Diagnostic monitoring (don’t worry about this).
  • /dev/ttyUSB1 - NMEA port.
  • /dev/ttyUSB2 - AT command port through which you will send the commands to start the IP connection.

Regards

Matt

@mlw

Thanks for the quick reply.

How can I tell if I have the Qualcomm open source driver included?

Regards

Reiner

@reiner