ask as a beginner

hi,
sorry if my quetions is very simple for you.
like in subject for this topic: i am a beginner. :smiley:
however, i want to be an expert like you. 8)

the quetions about M2M studio are :

1. am i right that if we use M2M studio, we dont need hyperterminal because the function of “shell” toolbar in target management perspective accommodate that ?
  2. what are the differences between “build” (hammer toolbar) and “manage configurations for the current projects” toolbar (next to the hammer toolbar) in Open AT perspective ?
  3. am i right that the simple procedure of creating application and downloading into wireless CPU are :
    create source code in Open AT perspective > build that application using “click hammer toolbar” > debug and run program using “click bug picture and run picture toolbar” in Open AT perspective ?
  4. what are other software that we need besides M2M studio ?

thank you for your patience answering my questions.
best regards…

Yes, the shell view aims to provide the same features than HyperTerminal. It is not possible to handle all use cases yet, but major ones (like access to AT commands) are OK.

When you click in the drop-down list of each button, the behaviour is indeed the same: you change the active build configuration, and you trigger a build operation.
When you click the hammer icon, you trigger a build.
When you click the config manager icon, you open the Build Configurations management dialog.

Yes. In addition, please make sure that the target is connected prior to click the run/debug button, and use the debug button (in Target mode) only if you have successfully setup your JTAG environment.

M2M Studio integrates all necessary software, except the GDB server when you need for JTAG debugging (all is explained in the online help)

thankyou daav…
i’ve waited this answer for such a long time. :slight_smile: