SMS Receiving and Module Restarts

I am new to Open AT platform and I am on Q2501B. I have a strange problem. Briefly, this is what I have in side the application

1. One Timer that timeout every 20 seconds
  2. One Timer that timeout every 3 minutes
  3. I have subscribed to Flash (Chances for a flash write is once in every 30 mins) and writing is very occasional.
  4. I have Subscribed to 3 GPIOs and state change in the GPIOs are also very occasional.
  5. I have subscribed to SMS.

The problem I have is that randomly the modules resets (OpenAT application crash) when the SMS callback handler is called. Usually it happens on the reception second long SMS. When small SMS are sent, it still happens, but may be on the 3rd SMS.

Following is my code

bool SMSHandler(ascii *SmsTel, ascii SmsTimeOrLength, ascii SmsText)
{
s8 smsSendHnd;
u8
result[22];
u8
dataext[2];

adl_atSendResponse ( ADL_AT_UNS, "\r\nSMS is received...\r\nThe text is below...\r\n" );
adl_atSendResponse ( ADL_AT_UNS, SmsText );
adl_atSendResponse ( ADL_AT_UNS, "\r\n" );

< I do some parsing and some business logic applied here.>

adl_memRelease(result);
adl_memRelease(dataext);
adl_memRelease(SmsText);
return FALSE;

}

I would greatly appreciate the help.

Rgds
Green

Hi,
I can’t see any hint in the documentation about the necessity to release the pointer ‘SmsText’. Try without releasing. This pointer is owned by OpenAt , it will care for this pointer by itself.
If you need to keep the content, copy it, it will become invalid after the call.

cheers
Philipp

Thanks Philipp. I have tried it without the release for SMSText and still it happens.

Rgds
Green

Hi Green,

how do you use the variables result and dataext in your program? You defined an array of pointers, and I guess that’s not what you intended to do… If you use them as unsigned character arrays on the stack, you do not need to do a memget and certainaly you should not release them with adl_memRelease(result); and
adl_memRelease(dataext);