RTC with low temerature

Hellow

I’ve got a problem with my RTC on Q2686. In trial, the RTC works fine, but now the system is installed outdoor for further tests and now, the RTC stops sometime.

The stoptime is random.

My system is supplyed by Li-Ion akku and Solarzells, so it’s imposible to have peaks on supply voltage. The backup battery is installed (instead the akku is connected at all time).

I supose it’s because of the temperature of -5°C… but i have a Class B (-40°C to +85°C storage and operating -20°C to 60°C)

Does anybody have some experience?
It can’t be the software, it works at room temperature

can it be the same problem?

http://www.wavecom.com/modules/movie/scenes/forums/viewtopic.php?f=11&t=2075

Hiya,

Your module may be rated down to -40, but is your battery?

I’ve had a lot of experience deploying battery powered devices into extreme cold climates, and I’ve found that the battery usually gives out way before the silicon does.

The Q2686 will automatically shut down if the battery voltage goes below about 3.2V. This is configurable though - look at the AT+WBMI commands in the AT user guide. You can also get unsolicited notifications of the battery voltage through the same AT command.

My first thought would be to enable the unsolicited battery voltage responses and log them somehow to see if your battery is giving out…

Another issue you may have is that the clock crystal (in particular the RTC crystal) may drift signifigantly with temperature - depends on the crystal. So unless you have a way of disciplining your RTC (i.e. NITZ messages or similar), the module Date/Time (AT+CCLK) value is going to drift all over the place.

Please let us know how you get on.

ciao, Dave

Hellow dave

thank you.
I have to test out if it’s the battery or not (but with -5°C only …). But what’s about the backup-battery? The main-battery can not go down for such a long time that the backup runs out of power, it’s imposible.