Renaming a Configuration actually creates a Copy


#1
  1. right-click the project’s name in the Project Explorer
  2. choose Build Configurations > Manage…
  3. use the ‘Rename…’ button to rename the active configuration
  4. OK

A copy of the “renamed” i [/i]configuration appears in the Project Explorer in addition to the configuration with the original name!

So it’s just done a copy - not a rename!

However, returning to the ‘Manage Configurations’ dialogue, it contains only the renamed version - not the original!

So there’s this “orphan” configuration folder left in the Project Explorer!


#2

If you rename a configuration other than the Active one, it’s worse:

the Project Explorer is not updated at all - so you still see the old name, and there’s no sign of the new name!


#3

Actually, the inner configuration object is indeed renamed (no duplication at this level). But it’s true that the build configuration output folder itself is not renamed (and then a new one with the new config name is created).
The build configurations rename facility is implemented in the Eclipse CDT core.

About the non-active configs, the new folder is not created since these output folders are created only when the corresponding configuration is active. E.g. when you create a project, only the active configuration folder is created, not the other ones.


#4

But, when you create a New configuration in an existing project, its output folder does appear in the Project Explorer, but it doesn’t appear in the ‘Manage Configurations’ list until you close and re-open it!


#5

The explanation of this strange behaviour:
we have indeed a known GUI bug in the Manage Configurations list, which doesn’t display newly created configs until the dialog is re-opened. But since the newly created config is immediatly set as the active one, its output folder is then created on the Project Explorer.