EM7355 - Voice calls possible?!

Hello, I am new to the EM7355. I got it working in my Toughbook I can browse the internet and use SMS. My next question is there anyway to receive calls make calls with it… my plan allows for talk and data and I have a phone number associated with the SIM… but I can’t figure out how I would dial out or receive a phone call over 4G/3G network?

Any insight/recommendations are appreciated!

Jeff

The EM7355 module is a DataOnly device thus voice call is not supported.

Hi Tomato,

Ok, I see that EM7345 supports PCM voice. Do you know if this will work instead? What other options do I have? If the hardware will work then there is this tool to test: https://m2msupport.net/m2msupport/sierra-wireless-em7345-4g-lte-m2-module/

it has a GSM module ,so obviously can make voice calls, but you need a software for it. I still can’t find one. A good programming engineer can do it easy.

just found from the link you provided a software which probably can do the job-AT command tester. https://m2msupport.net/m2msupport/download-at-command-tester/

@ili4pop

So in theory you can make a voice call with the unit but it will not route the voice data stream anywhere making it effectively not support voice given you cannot hear it or send it.

Regards

Matt

Hi - it’s an old thread but nice to see some interest. I found out I have VoLTE support on my network but still no go with these radio modems. I have been waiting to see if any of the newer radios from Sierra Wireless support voice as these ones seem to have depreciated.