Difficulty making data calls

I’ve been given two Erco&Gener GenPro 20e modems.

I am fairly new to working with gsm modems and hyperterminal, but I have learned to configure each modem via hyperterminal and a RS-232 port. I would like to establish a data call between the two modems, but I haven’t been able to receive the “Connect 9600” response. I can send/receive SMS between the two which indicates some communication but I’m not sure why I can’t make a data call. I verified with the service provider that 1)both SIMs have a data service 2)modems are in data mode(+cicb+0) and 3) established automatic call response(ATs0+1).

Any suggestions are greatly appreciated.

Try AT+CBST command, maybe AT+CBST=71 (depending on provider) on both modems.

Also make use of AT+CMEE=1 and AT+CEER commands.

I tried the +CBST=71 suggestion, but no luck on that one. I previously used +cbst=0,0,1.

When I use atd, the screen returns WIND5:1, NO CARRIER, WIND6:1.

At+CEER command returns ERROR 50.

Any other suggestions.

Failure cause 50: Requested facility not subscribed

You should use CBST setup on both modems. Consult your provider which CBST setup they support. Also AT&W.

CBST is setup on both modems. Do you mean that I should contact my service provider, AT&T to determine which data rate their GSM network supports?

What other reasons could cause a the ERROR 50 to occur?

Thanks for your patience as I come up to speed on this project!

Don’t the words not subscribed suggest anything to you… :question:

eg, see: isdn.modemhelp.net/causecodes/ca … list.shtml

ok, I confirmed with my service provider the correct data speed and APN. Even after setting both modems to the correct CBST values and APNs, I still receive a NO CARRIER response.

Immediately after issuing the atd comand, I issue a +CLCC command which returns the following: +CLCC: 1,0,2,1,0,“n”,129
where n= dialed number