I have read this before. But I did not expect that if I open my single project in the Project explorer view, I MUST stay in this view before entering Debug configurations… dialog. The step 2 assumes building the executable which may indirectly imply editing of the source. So the source view will be active with very high probability if developer does not expect such behaviour.
I think that if it cannot be avoided - it should be just better documented.