Datacall

I quote:

I have to add that I am fairly new to OpenAT and even the use of modems in general.
I managed to make a datacall from a hyperterminal to the SiWi modem.
Using the developer studio, I answered the call with ATA wich seems to set up the connection. In the terminal I receive “CONNECT 9600”.

At this point I’d think that Im able to type and send data from and to the SiWi modem but I don’t seem to receive these characters in the console view of developer studio. Is this because I am still in AT mode?
If so, how do I change to data mode?
Or did I understand this completely wrong and do I need to use the FCM to receive the data from the GPS flow and resend it on the serial link?

Yes - you should.

Does it work if you just use a simple terminal program (eg, Hyperterminal) instead of DS?

No.

Now I do receive the “connect 9600” in hyperterminal, through the SiWi modem.
The characters i send from the SiWi modem arrive well on the other modem/terminal.
The characters that I should receive are not displayed.

Both terminals are configured for 115200 baud, since thats what they need when performing AT commands. I tried changing both to 9600, gibberish.

Ok it works as it should, very easy.
Just had to have everything running at the same baud rate

You shouldn’t actually need to have everything at the same baud rate - but it certainly simplifies things!

I have the similar problem with you jorn :

In the SiWi DS console view, nothing appear and I can’t send any data (only can send AT command to the local modem),
but in the other terminal side the character is appear (only CONNECT 9600).

Then I try to use cutecom (linux hyperterminal like program) at the both side, and it works, the character is appear in both direction.

Is there any specific setting for DS ?

I try to similize the baud rate setting, but still can’t works.

Sounds like a limitation of DS, then :question: