# Renaming a Configuration actually creates a Copy

**URL:** <https://forum.sierrawireless.com/t/renaming-a-configuration-actually-creates-a-copy/4386>\
**Category:** Development tools\
**Created:** [April 26, 2010, 12:16pm UTC](https://forum.sierrawireless.com/t/renaming-a-configuration-actually-creates-a-copy/4386 "2010-04-26T12:16:18Z")\
**Posts on this page:** 5\
**Page:** 1

<div class="post-metadata">

**Author:** ![awneil](https://avatars.discourse-cdn.com/v4/letter/a/49beb7/32.png) [@awneil](https://forum.sierrawireless.com/u/awneil)\
**Post date:** [April 26, 2010, 12:16pm UTC](https://forum.sierrawireless.com/t/renaming-a-configuration-actually-creates-a-copy/4386/1 "2010-04-26T12:16:18Z")

</div>

1. right-click the project’s name in the Project Explorer
2. choose Build Configurations \> Manage…
3. use the ‘Rename…’ button to rename the active configuration
4. OK

A copy of the “renamed” i [/i]configuration appears in the Project Explorer in addition to the configuration with the original name!

So it’s just done a copy - not a rename!

However, returning to the ‘Manage Configurations’ dialogue, it contains only the renamed version - not the original!

So there’s this “orphan” configuration folder left in the Project Explorer!

---

<div class="post-metadata">

**Author:** ![awneil](https://avatars.discourse-cdn.com/v4/letter/a/49beb7/32.png) [@awneil](https://forum.sierrawireless.com/u/awneil)\
**Post date:** [April 26, 2010, 12:56pm UTC](https://forum.sierrawireless.com/t/renaming-a-configuration-actually-creates-a-copy/4386/2 "2010-04-26T12:56:52Z")

</div>

If you rename a configuration other than the Active one, it’s worse:

the Project Explorer is not updated at all - so you still see the old name, and there’s no sign of the new name!

---

<div class="post-metadata">

**Author:** ![daav](https://sea1.discourse-cdn.com/flex025/user_avatar/forum.sierrawireless.com/daav/32/2767_2.png) [@daav](https://forum.sierrawireless.com/u/daav)\
**Post date:** [April 27, 2010, 9:38am UTC](https://forum.sierrawireless.com/t/renaming-a-configuration-actually-creates-a-copy/4386/3 "2010-04-27T09:38:20Z")

</div>

Actually, the inner configuration object is indeed renamed (no duplication at this level). But it’s true that the build configuration output folder itself is not renamed (and then a new one with the new config name is created).  
The build configurations rename facility is implemented in the Eclipse CDT core.

About the non-active configs, the new folder is not created since these output folders are created only when the corresponding configuration is active. E.g. when you create a project, only the active configuration folder is created, not the other ones.

---

<div class="post-metadata">

**Author:** ![awneil](https://avatars.discourse-cdn.com/v4/letter/a/49beb7/32.png) [@awneil](https://forum.sierrawireless.com/u/awneil)\
**Post date:** [April 27, 2010, 11:20am UTC](https://forum.sierrawireless.com/t/renaming-a-configuration-actually-creates-a-copy/4386/4 "2010-04-27T11:20:32Z")

</div>

But, when you create a New configuration in an existing project, its output folder does appear in the Project Explorer, but it doesn’t appear in the ‘Manage Configurations’ list until you close and re-open it!

---

<div class="post-metadata">

**Author:** ![daav](https://sea1.discourse-cdn.com/flex025/user_avatar/forum.sierrawireless.com/daav/32/2767_2.png) [@daav](https://forum.sierrawireless.com/u/daav)\
**Post date:** [April 28, 2010, 6:39am UTC](https://forum.sierrawireless.com/t/renaming-a-configuration-actually-creates-a-copy/4386/5 "2010-04-28T06:39:36Z")

</div>

> [@awneil](#):
>
> But, when you create a New configuration in an existing project, its output folder does appear in the Project Explorer, but it doesn’t appear in the ‘Manage Configurations’ list until you close and re-open it!

The explanation of this strange behaviour:  
we have indeed a known GUI bug in the Manage Configurations list, which doesn’t display newly created configs until the dialog is re-opened. But since the newly created config is immediatly set as the active one, its output folder is then created on the Project Explorer.
